Finance, General Purposes and Audit Committee

The role of the Finance, General Purposes and Audit Committee is to consider the policies, practices and contracts of the charity and its financial and operational results

Chair Mrs Frances Grigg
Caroline Trewhitt

Appointments and Governance Committee

The role of the Appointments and Governance Committee is to review the size and composition of the Board of Trustees and sub-committees and make recommendations to the Board of Trustees with regard to any changes that are deemed necessary.

Chair Mrs Kate Tompkins
Mrs Carole Walker

Clinical and Scientific Committee

The Clinical & Scientific Committee gives advice to the Senior Leadership Team and Board of Trustees on medical and clinical matters. Its members are all well respected in the medical world and have specific expertise in the field of osteoporosis. All give their time, energy and expertise for free.

Chair: Professor Neil Gittoes
Vice Chair: Professor Terry O’Neill

Professor Juliet Compston
Professor Elaine Dennison
Professor Richard Eastell
Dr Louise Dolan
Mrs Alison Doyle
Mrs Jill Griffin
Dr Kassim Javaid
Fizz Thompson
Susan Hamilton

Professor Eugene McCloskey
Dr Nicola Peel
Professor David Reid
Professor Roger Francis
Dr Ailsa Welch
Dr Stephen Gallacher
Dr David Armstrong
Dr Stuart Eastman

Members and Volunteers Committee

The members of the Members & Volunteers Committee are charity members or volunteers who live across the UK.  They have a wide range of skills and experience, providing valuable insights, views and advice on a wide range of matters relating to the charity's work. 

Chair: Mrs Rebecca Thompson

Mrs Carole Walker
Mrs Margo Berry
Mrs Maggie Biggs
Dr David Brookfield
Mrs Suzanne Hewitt
Mrs Carol Hufton

Mrs Olive Pelan
Mrs Gill Pullan
Mrs Maggie Puttick
Mrs Alison Smith
Mr Stan Thompson
Mr Nic Vine
Dr Lynne Wigens

Remuneration Committee

The role of the Remuneration Committee is to review the remuneration policy of the Charity and to make recommendations to the Board of Trustees with regard to any changes that are deemed necessary.

Chair: Mrs Kate Tompkins
Mrs Frances Grigg
Dr Louise Dolan
Mrs Carole Walker

Advisory Panels

A number of scientific fora advise the Charity in their specialist areas via the Clinical and Scientific Committee. Here is a list of the Charity’s fora:

Bone Densitometry Training and Advisory Panel: provides advice on the best practice, training and education in the field of bone densitometry (bone density scanning). This panel oversees the planning and organisation of the National Training Scheme for Bone Densitometry and radiation protection (IR(ME)R) courses for operators and practitioners.

Nutrition and Lifestyle Forum: oversees the development of initiatives relevant to nutrition and osteoporosis.

Osteoporosis Review Editorial Board: oversees the scientific content and production of the charity’s journal Osteoporosis Review.

Osteoporosis Conference Planning Committee: advises on the organisation of the event and oversees the scientific content of the conference programme.

Research Grants Committee

Professor Elaine Dennison – Chair,
Professor of Musculoskeletal Epidemiology and Honorary Consultant in Rheumatology, MRC Lifecourse Epidemiology Unit, Southampton University

Mr Steven Chandler, Consultant Medical Physicist (Retired)
Dr Richard Keen, Consultant Rheumatologist, Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital NHS Trust
Professor Cameron Swift, Clinical Age Research Unit, King’s College School of Medicine, London
Professor Jon Tobias, Professor of Rheumatology, University of Bristol
Dr Stephen Tuck, Consultant Rheumatologist, James Cook Hospital, Middlesbrough. Honorary Senior Lecturer, Newcastle Institute of Cellular Medicine.
Dr Kate Ward, Senior Research Scientist, MRC Human Nutrition Research, Cambridge
Professor Dawn Skelton, Exercise Physiologist, Glasgow Caledonian University

Lay Members:
Dr David Brookfield
Dr Cheryl Dolder
Elizabeth Heyer

For more information on the charity's governance arrangements, please contact Helen Kingman, HR Director