Research Grants Committee (RGC)

The National Osteoporosis Society Research Grants Committee consists of scientific and lay members and plays a crucial role in the success of the Charity's Research Programme.

Role of the Research Grants Committee (RGC)

  • Oversee the processes involved in the research grants programme
  • Make recommendations to the Board of Trustees on the allocation of research funding, in line with the Charity's research strategy
  • Advise the Charity in development of its research strategy, in line with the overall strategic direction
  • Comply with Research Grants Committee Code of Conduct

Current Research Grants Committee Members

Scientific Members

Professor Elaine Dennison (Chair): Professor of Musculoskeletal Epidemiology and Honorary Consultant in Rheumatology, MRC Lifecourse Epidemiology Unit, University of Southampton

Professor Jon Tobias: Professor of Rheumatology, University of Bristol

Dr Stephen Tuck: Consultant Rheumatologist, James Cook Hospital, Middlesbrough and Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer, Newcastle University Institute of Cellular Medicine 

Dr Kate Ward: Senior Research Scientist, MRC Human Nutrition Research, Cambridge

Dr Celia Gregson: Consultant Senior Lecturer in Musculoskeletal Medicine, University of Bristol

Dr Geeta Hampson: Consultant in Chemical Pathology and Metabolic Medicine, Guys St Thomas Hospital

Dr Terry Aspray: Consultant in Metabolic Bone Disease, Freeman Hospital, Newcastle and Clinical Senior Lecturer, Newcastle University

Dr Carolyn Greig: Senior Lecturer in Nutrition and Ageing, University of Birmingham

Dr Zoe Paskins: Senior Lecturer and Honorary Consultant Rheumatologist, Primary Care and Health Sciences, Keele University

Lay Members

Dr David Brookfield

Elizabeth Heyer

Mary Bishop

Penny Calder 


The Research Grants Committee aims to reflect a fair balance of experience and scientific disciplines, with views from all members given equal weighting.